Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

Research Guides - Cleveland-Marshall Law Library

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Cleveland-Marshall Law Library

Guides

Bar Exam Resources
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 2, 2014
Help with the Bar
Tags: bar exam
Bloomberg Law, Lexis and Westlaw Compared
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Aug 11, 2014
A comparison of the three largest legal databases, Bloomberg Law, Lexis and Westlaw. Lexis Advance and WestlawNext. Shepards, Bcite and Keycite Compared. Tips and tutorials. Search language charts - terms and connectors & field searches.
Tags: bloomberg law, lexis advance, lexisnexis, westlaw classic, westlawnext
Bluebooking and Legal Writing Software
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 11, 2014
This guide lists software useful for legal writing. (This guide was formerly titled Citation Checking and Legal Writing Software).
Tags: blue book, citation, legal writing, microsoft word, word
Briefs, Motions & Pleadings, Oral Arguments
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 2, 2014
This guide deals with finding actual briefs, pleadings and motions filed with courts. For forms, see Forms and Practice Materials guide.
Tags: briefs, legal writing, litigation, motions, pleading
Citation Checking Guide
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Sep 11, 2014
A how-to guide for Law Review and Journal Staff. Covers how to find a copy of cited materials, as well as Bluebooking.
Tags: citation, legal writing
Cleveland-Marshall College of Law Solo Incubator Resources
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 2, 2014
On stop shopping for resources for our solo incubator attorneys.
Constitutional Law Research Guide
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 16, 2014
A guide for researching Constitutional Law, The United States Supreme Court, and State Constitutions
Tags: civil rights, constitution, legal history, supreme court
Corporations and Businesses - Finding Information About Them
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Nov 21, 2014
Find information about companies (clients or parties in a lawsuit), including statutory agent, financials, past litigation, officers, mergers and other company information.
Tags: company information, competitive intelligence, corporations
Criminal Law and Criminal Procedure
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 2, 2014
Books, periodicals, cases, statutes, and sentencing guidelines.
Cyber Law
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Sep 5, 2014
Cyber Law applies many areas of law to computers and the online environment, including intellectual property, contracts, freedom of speech, privacy, public access to information, defamation and tort law and jurisdictional issues.
Tags: computer law, cyber law, intellectual property, privacy
C|M|LAW Students' Library Guide
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 2, 2014
Help for students in using our library.
Tags: briefing a case, exams, first year, law library, law school, study aids, studying
Dockets, Court Information, Rules
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 2, 2014
Find Court contact information, court rules, and docket information.
Tags: dockets courts court information court rules
Education Law Resource Guide
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 2, 2014
Legal issues related to education may involve any of a number of areas of law and legal research (torts, constitutional law, etc.) this guide offers a valuable start.
Tags: education, ohio
Empirical Legal Research and Statistics
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 10, 2014
Includes sources about empirical legal research, and places to locate all types of statistics.
Tags: empirical legal research, government, statistics
Environmental Law Resource Guide
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 2, 2014
Environmental Law mainly derives from federal and state statutes and regulations which are covered in depth in this guide.
Tags: environmental law
Federal Legal Sources
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Nov 13, 2014
The U.S. is a federal system. This research guide summarizes the major primary sources of federal law, and points the reader toward a few of the most useful secondary sources in the area.
Tags: cases, cfr, code, fed reg, federal, federal register, treatises
Finding Articles in Law Reviews and Journals
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Nov 26, 2014
A guide to finding articles in law journals and law reviews in the library and on the web
Tags: law journals, law reviews, legal periodicals, legal research, scholarly writing, secondary sources
First Amendment
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 2, 2014
The essential rights of religion, speech, press, assembly, and petition are the cornerstone of our democratic tradition. The scholarship in this area is vast; this guide introduces users to starting points for research and study.
Tags: adult business, commercial speech, constitution, constitutional law, freedom of religion, freedom of speech
Foreign Law Sources
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 2, 2014
Foreign law is national or subnational law. It governs the conduct of private individuals, corporations, and government entities in a particular country.
Tags: foreign law
Forms and Practice Materials
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 2, 2014
Rather than originally drafting documents, one can consult sample forms. Form books may include explanations, checklists and annotations to primary and secondary sources.
Tags: forms, legal drafting, legal forms, legal writing, litigation, procedural, transactional
Free Electronic Legal Research
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Nov 21, 2014
A guide to finding legislation, cases, law review articles, journals, and other legal research information on the web.
Tags: articles, cases, free legal research, international, internet legal research, legislation
Getting Ready to Clerk
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 1, 2014
Resources and Tips for a Successful Summer Associate Research Experience
Tags: career, cost effectiveness, law clerk, law firms, research, summer associates
Jewish Law Resource Guide
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 2, 2014
Jewish Law is called Halakha in Hebrew. Judaism classically draws no distinction in its laws between religious and ostensibly non-religious life.
Tags: civil law, ethics, jewish, responsa, talmud, torah
Jury Verdict & Damages Research
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 2, 2014
Find out how much a case is worth. Find the law about damages.
Tags: damages, jury verdicts, litigation, personal injury, tort law, trial practice
Labor and Employment Law Research Guide
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Nov 13, 2014
General sources for labor and employment law, sources for specific topics such as wages and hours, employment discrimination, osha, benefits and pensions, workers compensation, unemployment, userra.
Tags: discrimination, employment discrimination, employment law, labor law, ohio
Land Use, Planning and Zoning Law Resource Guide
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 2, 2014
Find books, articles, statutes, case law and news on land use planning and zoning law. Covers specific topics: adult businesses, environmental issues, urban planning, affordable housing and eminent domain.
Tags: land use, local government, ohio, property, urban planning
Law Career Resources
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 4, 2014
This selective guide lists some of the books and materials in the library's collection dealing with law career information.
Tags: career, employers, intellectual property, international, jobs
Lawyers and Judges - Directory Information & Bios
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 9, 2014
Biographies and contact information for judges and lawyers.
Tags: biographies, judges, lawyers
Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 9, 2014
This selective guide highlights major print and electronic resources available to Cleveland Marshall Law School students researching laws and issues regarding the conduct, duties, and obligations of attorneys and judges
Tags: bar associations, legal ethics, legal practice, professional responsibility, professionalism
Legislative History
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 9, 2014
A guide to find the documents created during the legislative process: versions of bills & amendments, committee reports, debates, hearings, etc.
Litigation
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 9, 2014
This guide covers Ohio and Federal Litigation, primarily at the trial level, although there is one page of appellate resources.
Major Legal Treatises & Services by Subject
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 9, 2014
This selective guide lists major treatises, services, and handbooks available to C|M|LAW students either in the Law Library print collection or electronically through our Lexis, Westlaw, BNA subscriptions.
Tags: treatises
Mobile Apps for Law Students
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Aug 19, 2014
Provides information about current mobile applications of interest to C|M|Law Students. Links for Apple and Android devices.
Tags: bar preparation, lawyers, mobile apps, ohio, study aids, trail practice
Nonprofit Law Resource Guide
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 9, 2014
Non-profit law encompasses aspects of tax law and corporate law.
Tags: nonprofit law
Oil and Gas Law Research Guide
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 10, 2014
Oil and gas law resources, both Ohio and national, including a page about hydraulic fracturing, ie. fracking.
Tags: environmental law, fracking, hydraulic fracturing, natural gas, ohio, oil and gas law, property, real estate, utica shale
Property Law Resource Guide
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 10, 2014
Property law is concerned with issues regarding ownership and use of real estate and personal property, including title, methods of conveyancing, mortgage, recording and the landlord/tenant relationship.
Tags: landlord, mortgage, personal property, property, real estate, tenant
Research Databases
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 11, 2014
A listing of all research databases that we offer access to. Note: access will vary depending on your status as a student/faculty/staff and public patrons.
Tags: research
Researching Employers
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 10, 2014
Use this guide to gain competitive intelligence about potential employers, which can be used at an interview. Average salary data and other information can help you decide whether you want to accept an offer.
Tags: career, employers, interview preparation, judges, law firms, lawyers
Scholarship Technology
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 10, 2014
Technology useful for writing law school papers, including Reference Management Software, such as Zotero and Refworks; Mindmapping and Flowcharts; Citation Checkers; RSS feeds and social bookmarking, such as CiteULike and Delicious.
Tags: scholarly writing
Securities Regulation
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 10, 2014
Securities Regulation concerns efforts to protect investors from fraud, particularly by mandating that investors have efficient access to risk and benefit investment information.
Tags: securities stocks corporations
Space Law
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 11, 2014
Space law is governed by International laws and treaties, as well as the laws of individual nations, particularly nations which are "space active".
Tags: international, space law
Study Aids
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 15, 2014
Find Study Aids in the Library in Room A066 on the Atrium Level. These can be checked out. There are also study aids for use in the library only in the First Floor Reference Area.
Tags: bar preparation, exam preparation, study aids
Torts and Personal Injury Resource Guide
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 11, 2014
Resources dealing with tort law.
Tags: products liability, tort law
Where to Go for Legal Advice in Cleveland
by Cleveland-Marshall Law Library - Last Updated Dec 12, 2014
Assistance in finding organizations that can assist with legal advice.
Tags: lawyers, legal practice, legal research

Cleveland-Marshall College of Law Library

C|M|LAW Library Home Page Library Hours Ask Us Contact a Librarian

1801 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, Ohio 44115
Mailing Address: 2121 Euclid Avenue, LL 109, Cleveland, Ohio 44115
(216) 687-2250

 
 
Description

  Loading...