This is the "Finding Articles in Law Reviews and Journals" page of the "Finding Articles in Law Reviews and Journals" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Articles in Law Reviews and Journals   Tags: law journals, law reviews, legal periodicals, legal research, scholarly writing, secondary sources  

A guide to finding articles in law journals and law reviews in the library and on the web
Last Updated: Nov 26, 2014 URL: http://law-csuohio.v1.libguides.com/law_review Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles in Law Reviews and Journals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Articles by Name

Locating Journals in the Library Collections:

When you have a citation to a particular article, or are trying to locate journals in a particular field, use Scholar to help you find out what journals, periodicals, magazines, newspapers, or newsletters the Law Library or University Library subscribe to, and the format options available to you.  Remember to search the journal title, not the article title.

If you cannot find the journal you are looking for, be sure to check OhioLINK.  If another academic institution owns the journal, we may be able to borrow it from them.  You can request a journal to be sent to the law library for pick-up through OhioLINK.

 

Finding Articles by Subject Searching Using Indexes

Indexes provide access to articles organized by subject, author and perhaps other criteria, and often provide links to the full text of the articles as well as their citations. When you use an index, you are the beneficiary of the work of a subject expert who has read the material and assigned relevant subject headings to describe it. Online indexes offer several fields for searching although the historical depth of the index may not equal its print counterparts. In an online index, you will often have the ability to search both by subject (from a standard list applicable to all items in the database) and keyword (words appearing anywhere in the citation).  

Index to Legal Periodicals and ILP Retro: (Index to Legal Periodicals , 1981-current, ILP Retro- 1908-1981) Index to articles from more than 500 legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association organizations, university publications, law reviews, and government publications. Indexing includes items from the United States, Puerto Rico, Great Britain, Ireland, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. Clicking on Find It links to full text of the article in HeinOnline or other databases.   To access off campus, enter your name, CSU ID number and Scholar PIN.

The print version of the Index to Legal Periodicals is located in the Law Library's reference collection, and indexes articles from 1908 to 2009. KF 8 .I54. In addition to the subject approach, there is also a Table of Statutes and Table of Cases, for identifying articles about specific laws or cases.

Legal Resource Index: (WestlawNext) Index to articles from more than 850 journals from the United States, Canada, Great Britain, New Zealand, and Australia, including law reviews, bar association journals, and legal newspapers.

Index to Legal Periodical Literature 1888-1939 is on HeinOnline.

Index to Periodicals Related to Law 1958-2007 HeinOnline

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline) Multilingual index to articles and book reviews published worldwide.  1985-current, plus pdf of 1960-1985.   Also analyzed are the contents of legal essays, festschrifts, melanges, and congress reports. The print Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is located in the Law Library reference collection and contains coverage from 1960-2011. K 33 .I38  See below for a tutorial on browsing the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals.

Subject Compilation of State Laws - (HeinOnline) An index to articles/books which details the law in the fifty states on a certain topic.

 

Locating Articles by Subject Searching Full-Text

Full-text searching options include searching the full electronic text of a particular issue or run of issues of a periodical or group of periodicals. If you are looking for a unique phrase or concept, struggling with a partial citation, wishing to examine a subject as covered in a particular group of periodicals, or are hoping to locate material not yet caught by indexers, full-text searching offers opportunities to customize your research.

Lexis Advance

Law Reviews via LexisNexis Academic (OhioLINK) Available in the Law Library to the public. Available remotely with a CSU ID and Scholar PIN.

WestlawNext  (Law Reviews, Bar Journals and Legal Periodicals)

HeinOnline  Law Journal Library - Image based collection of nearly 400 legal periodicals from inception (pre-1980 coverage unique to this service); includes charts, graphs, photographs, and footnotes as they are in the published articles. Can search US Law Journal Library, Most Cited Law Journals, Core US Law Journals, International and non- US Law Journals. Includes issue Tables of Contents. See HeinOnline's YouTube Channel for video tutorials on using the system. Available in the Law Library to the public. Available remotely with a CSU ID and Scholar PIN.  HeinOnline Bar Journals is also available, and contains more than 80 state and local Bar Journals. You can search by article title, author, description, date, or across the full text of the articles. Kluwer Law International Journal Library (HeinOnline) contains international journals.

Legal Collection (via OhioLINK) Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 law journals. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information dates as far back as 1965.

JSTOR 1838- Back files only of selected academic journals, no current issues.

EBSCOhost databases from Michael Scwartz Library.  See especially Academic Search Complete, Newspaper Source

Ingenta  See Search Tips

 

Can't Find it?

If C|M|LAW Library does not own the journal you are looking for and it not available wither online or through OhioLINK, you can search for it using WorldCat.  You can make requests for interlibrary loan materials by submitting this form.

 

Browsing the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

 

Search HeinOnline

Search Law Journal Library

 

Search Law Journal Library by Citation

Vol.
Abbreviation
Page

 

When searching off campus, you will first need to enter via the proxied link.

Heinonline contains older as well as newer law review and journal articles.

Google Scholar

Search for scholarly books and articles available for free online, as well as items obtainable from the library. Search boxes for journal title, author, date, keywords, broad subject areas such as social science. Also a search for legal opinions and journals (both together). Search by title of article by using operators, for example - intitle:constitution .

It searches HeinOnline, JSTOR and more databases, for which the links will work on campus.  To link to HeinOnline, etc., off campus go to the Law Library's Law Databases page.  Google Scholar DOES NOT INDEX EVERYTHING on HeinOnline or other library databases, so you must check the other library databases and indexes too.  Only 50% of HeinOnline journal articles are indexed by Google Scholar.  See Hein's blog post. Library databases have more sophisticated search mechanisms and may be more accurate.



Cleveland-Marshall College of Law Library

C|M|LAW Library Home Page Library Hours Ask Us Contact a Librarian

1801 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, Ohio 44115
Mailing Address: 2121 Euclid Avenue, LL 109, Cleveland, Ohio 44115
(216) 687-2250

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip